Project D.I.V.A. Escape Rooms, London

In a nutshell: Ambitious, electronic, really fun – but too gadgety

Played: September 2019


How we did: 3 person team, 50:25 

4 / 5

Host – 4

Puzzleology – 4

Fun Factor – 3

Immersion – 5

Room Quality – 4

Stash – Team photo emailed after with team name and time 

Committing to the futuristic setting, this is an admirable effort from the Escape Rooms team. ‘No padlocks!’ the host proudly states before we enter. 

Instead, it’s old Iphone’s which reveal clues throughout the game. The production design was really awesome – some of the most impressive I’ve experienced. The use of phones didn’t work for me, again pulling me out of the setting instead of locking me into it. 

Where it worked well was the tangible puzzles. Picking stuff up. Moving it around. Unlocking stuff. Getting into stuff. Brilliant. Fun. Like a 90’s game show. 

Where it didn’t work was using the phones and having to navigate the various clues from there. 

I understand that some people will love this. But I would have happily traded the phones in for a few padlocks or magnets. I loved the physicality and the linear nature, and remain eager to try their other games. 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started